Thursday, October 13, 2016

Receive These 7 Graces Promised by Our Lady

Everyone suffers and everyone needs graces.  The devotion to our Lady of Sorrows unites our suffering with that of the Blessed Mother’s.  Imagine what it was like for her to watch her beloved son beaten and bloodied, carrying the cross he was then crucified on.  We can’t even imagine.

We too have suffering and often cry out to the Blessed Mother to intercede for us.  The Devotion of the Seven Sorrows promotes union with Christ through union with the suffering that Our Blessed Mother endured. 
By uniting ourselves with both the Passion of Christ and His holy Mother, we honor Jesus by honoring both him and his Mother.   Through the visions of St. Bridget of Sweden, the Blessed Virgin Mary revealed that she grants seven graces to the souls who honor her daily by saying seven Hail Mary's and meditating on her tears and dolors. The 7 Sufferings, also sometimes referred to as the 7 Dolors, come from Scripture. 
The feast of Our Lady of Sorrows falls on September 15; however, the prayers honoring the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady can be said anytime throughout the year.
Seven Promises
Here are the 7 promises given to Saint Bridget by the Blessed Mother to those who honor her by daily meditating on her tears and sorrows and saying one Hail Mary with each meditation.
1.  I will grant peace to their families.
2.  They will be enlightened about the divine mysteries.
3.  I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.
4.  I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the Adorable Will of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.
5.  I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.
6.  I will visible help them at the moment of their death; they will see the face of their mother.
7.  I have obtained (this Grace) from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and sorrows, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.

The Seven Sorrows
The 7 Sorrows should not be confused with the five Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary.
1.         The Prophecy of Simeon. (Luke 2:34–35)
2.         The escape and flight into Egypt.  (Matthew 2:13)
3.         The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem. (Luke 2:43–45)
4.         The Meeting of Mary and Jesus on the Via Dolorosa.
5.         The Crucifixion of Jesus  on Mount Calvary. (John19:25)
6.         The Piercing of the Side of Jesus, and His Descent from the Cross. (Matthew 27:57–59)
7.         The Burial of Jesus by Joseph of Arimathea. (John 19:40–42)
For more inspiration, follow Patti at Twitter and Pinterest, like her pages at Dear God Books,  Big Hearted Families,  Catholic News & Inspiration on Facebook, and her author Facebook page.  Sign up at the right column to receive articles in your inbox.  God bless you!

No comments:

Post a Comment

You comment is awaiting moderation. Thanks for visiting. God bless you.